Who I am

One evening last fall I went through my Bible and just began writing down verses about my identity in Christ and declaring them over myself. I printed them out and posted them in my closet to look at and read everyday and  they are so strengthening to me. The enemy often targets our identity with lies and deception because of the power that is in realizing God’s truth about who we are in Him. That’s what this is. Feel free to print them out or share, and be blessed! :)

Who I am

according to God’s Word

I am what I am by the grace of God. (1 Corinthians 15:10)


I am being transformed in His likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the LORD who is the Spirit. I reflect God’s glory! (2 Corinthians 2:15)


I have taken off my old self with its practices and have put on the new self, being renewed in knowledge in the image of my Creator. I am made in His image, in His likeness. (Colossians 3:9-10; Genesis 1:27)


I am Christ’s workmanship. I am created to do GOOD works, which He has prepared in advance for me to do. (Ephesians 2:4)


I am His beloved, His desire is for me. (Song of Songs 7:10)


I am His daughter / son, through faith in Christ Jesus. (Romans 8:14, 2 Corinthians 6:18; Galatians 3:26)


I was predestined by God in His love to be adopted as His daughter/son through Jesus Christ in accordance with His pleasure and will, to the praise of His glorious grace, which He has given me in the One He loves. (Ephesians 1:5-6)


I am His creation. Everything God created is good. (Genesis 2:24; 1 Timothy 4:4)


I am the “apple of His eye”: God watches over me. (Psalm 17:8, Psalm 24:15)


I am a part of the Body of Christ, and the body of Christ needs me. (Romans 12:4-5, 1 Corinthians 12:12-27)


I am filled with the Holy Spirit: God has put His Spirit in me. (Romans 5:5, 2 Corinthians 1:22, 1 John 4:13)


I am forgiven, and God does not remember my sins. (Psalm 4:3)


I am set apart by God; He set me apart for Himself. (Psalm 4:3)


I am blessed. (The entire Bible)


I am surrounded with God’s favor as with a shield. (Psalm 5:12)


I am His. (Psalm 100:3)


I belong to Christ. (Romans 7:4; 14:8)


I am a NEW creation! (2 Corinthians 5:17)


I am the salt of the earth. (Matthew 5:13)


I am the light of the world.* (Matthew 5:14)


I am more than a conqueror through Christ Jesus! (Romans 8:37)


I have an anointing from the Holy One, and I know the truth. (1 John 2:20)


I am not of the world. (John 17:16)


I am justified freely by His grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus. (Romans 3:23)


I am reconciled to God (and by God) through the death of His Son, to present me holy in His sight and free from accusation as I continue in my faith, established and firm, not moved from the hope held out in the gospel. (Romans 5:10, Colossians 2:22-23)


I am dead to sin but alive to God in Christ Jesus. (Romans 6:11)


I am set free from sin! (Romans 6:18, 22)


I have received the Spirit of sonship! (Romans 8:15)


I am a child of God. (John 1:12; Romans 8:16, 1 John 3:1-2; 5:19)


I am a heir of God and a co-heir with Christ. I was made a heir, I was chosen in Christ by being predestined according to the plan of God who works out everything in unity with the purpose of His will in order to be the praise of His glory. I thank My Father, who has qualified me to share in the inheritance of the saints in the kingdom of light. I will receive an eternal inheritance from the LORD (that can never perish, fade or spoil; kept in heaven for me) through being justified by His grace! (Romans 8:17; Galatians 3:29; 4:1-7, Ephesians 1:11-12; Colossians 1:12; 3:24, Titus 3:9, Hebrews 9:15, 1 Peter 1:4)


I am loved by the Father. (John 16:27)


I am a daughter / son of the light and a daughter / son of the day. I do not belong to the night or the darkness. (1 Thessalonians 5:5)


I am accepted by Christ. (Romans 15:7)


God chose me from the beginning to be saved through the sanctifying work of the Spirit and through belief in the truth. God has called me to this through the gospel that I might share in the glory of Jesus Christ. (1 Thessalonians 1:4; 2 Thessalonians 13:13-14)


I have been enriched in every way in Christ. (1 Corinthians 1:5)


I do not lack any spiritual gifts. (1 Corinthians 1:7)


I have the mind of Christ. (1 Corinthians 2:16)


I am a fellow worker of God’s. (1 Corinthians 3:9)


I am of Christ (and Christ is of God). (1 Corinthians 3:23)


I already have all I want, already I have become rich! (1 Corinthians 4:8)


My body is the temple of the Holy Spirit; the Holy Spirit lives and dwells in me and I received Him from God. (1 Corinthians 6:19; 1 Corinthians 3:16)


I am the temple of the living God, and God’s Spirit lives in me. (1 Corinthians 3:16, 2 Corinthians 6:16)


I have ten thousand guardians in Christ. (1 Corinthians 4:15)


I am washed, I am sanctified, I am justified in the name of the LORD Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of my God! (1 Corinthians 6:11)


I am not my own: I was bought with a price. (1 Corinthians 6:19-20; 7:23)


I fight with weapons not of this world; they have divine power to diminish strongholds. (2 Corinthians 10:4)


I have been given victory from God through my LORD Jesus Christ! (1 Corinthians 15:57)


I am anointed by God; He has set His seal of ownership on me. (2 Corinthians 1:21-22)


I am the aroma of Christ to God among those who are being saved and those who are perishing. (2 Corinthians 2:15)


My competence comes from God. (2 Corinthians 3:5)


I am inwardly being renewed every day. (2 Corinthians 4:16)


I live by faith, not by sight. (2 Corinthians 5:7)


I am Christ’s ambassador, as though God was making His appeal through me. (2 Corinthians 5:20)


When I am weak, then I am strong. (2 Corinthians 12:10)


I am not trying to please men- otherwise I would not be a servant of Christ. (Galatians 1:10)


I am not judged by God by my external appearance: God looks at my heart. (Galatians 2:6; 1 Samuel 16:7)


I have been crucified with Christ; I have crucified my sinful nature and all its passions and desires; I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. I died and my life is now hidden with Christ in God. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me. God has made me alive with Christ: I have been raised with Christ! (Galatians 2:20; 5:24: Colossians 3:3; 2:11-14; 3:1, Ephesians 2:6)


God forgave all my sins. He cancelled the written code with its regulation that was against me and stood opposed to me: He took it away and nailed it to the cross. (Colossians 2:14)


I am clothed in Christ. (Galatians 3:27)


I am called to be free! (Galatians 5:13)


I am blessed in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ by God! (Ephesians 1:3)


I was chosen in Christ by God before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in His sight! (Ephesians 1:4)


I have received redemption and the forgiveness of my sins through Christ’s blood and God’s grace. (Ephesians 1:7)


The riches of God’s grace have been lavished on me with all wisdom and understanding. (Ephesians 1:7)


I am marked in Christ with a seal, the Holy Spirit. (Ephesians 1:13)


I can do everything through Him who gives me strength. (Philippians 4:13)


My God will meet all my needs according to His glorious riches in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:19)


I am rescued from the dominion of darkness and my Father has brought me into the kingdom of the Son He loves. (Colossians 1:13)


I have been given fullness in Christ, who is head over every power and authority! (Colossians 2:10)


Christ is my life. (Colossians 3:4)


I am dearly loved. (Colossians 3:12)


I love because He first loved me. (1 John 4:19)


I am serving Christ the Lord. (Colossians 3:24)


God has not appointed me to suffer wrath but to receive salvation through my LORD Christ Jesus. (1 Thessalonians 5:9)


I do not have a spirit of timidity –God has not given me that!- but He has given me a spirit of power, of love, and of self-discipline! (2 Timothy 1:7)


I have been saved by God and He has called me to a holy life, not because of anything I have done but because of His own purpose and grace and mercy. (2 Timothy 1:9, Titus 3:5; Ephesians 2:5, 8)


He saved me through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit who He poured out on me generously through Christ Jesus. (Titus 3:5-6)


I am not ashamed, because I know Whom I have believed. I am convinced that He is able to guard what I have entrusted to Him for that day. (2 Timothy 1:12)


The Lord will rescue me from every evil attack and will bring me safely to His heavenly kingdom. (2 Timothy 4:18)


I have been made holy through the sacrifice of the body of Jesus Christ once and for all. (Hebrews 10:10)


I have confidence to enter the Most Holy Place by the blood of Jesus, by a new and holy way opened for me through the curtain (that is, His body). (Hebrews 10:19-20)


I am brought near to God through the blood of Christ. (Ephesians 2:13)


I have access to the Father through Christ by one Spirit. (Ephesians 2:18)


God works in me to will and to act according to His good purpose. (Philippians 2:13)


I am a fellow citizen with God’s people. I am a member of God’s household. (Ephesians 2:19)


My citizenship is in heaven. (Philippians 3:20)


I am being built together in Christ to become a dwelling in which God lives by His spirit. (Ephesians 2:22)


I am not of those who shrink back and are destroyed. I am of those who believe and are saved. (Hebrews 10:39)


I eagerly expect and hope that I will in no way be ashamed, but will have sufficient courage so now as always Christ will be exalted in my body, whether by life or death. (Philippians 1:20)


I am blessed when I persevere under trial: when I have stood the test, I will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love Him. (James 1:12)


I am shielded through faith by God’s power. (1 Peter 1:5)


I have been given by God’s great mercy new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead. (1 Peter 1:3)


I am redeemed with the precious blood of Christ, which purifies me from all sin. (1 Peter 1:19, 1 John 1:7)


I am part of a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God that I may declare the praises of Him who called me out of darkness into His wonderful light! (1 Peter 2:9)


I have been healed by Christ’s wounds. (1 Peter 1:24)


His divine power has given me everything I need for life! (2 Peter 1:3)


God will meet all my needs according to His glorious riches in Christ Jesus (Philippians 4:19)


The One who is in me is greater than the one who is in the world. Everyone who is born of God and who believes Jesus is the Son of God overcomes the world! (1 John 4:4; 5:4-5)


I have confidence in approaching God that if I ask anything according to His will, He hears me! And because I know He hears me –whatever I ask- I know I will have what I asked of Him. (1 John 5:14-15)


I am kept safe by God and the evil one cannot harm me. (1 John 5:18)


I know that the Son of God has come and given me understanding that I may know Him who is true. (1 John 5:20)


I am confident that He who began a good work in me will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ! (Philippians 1:6)


What I will be has not been made known; but I know that when Christ appears, I will be made like Him, for I will see Him as He is. (1 John 3:2)


He has given me His very great and precious promises, so that through them I may participate the divine nature and escape the corruption in the world caused by evil desires. (2 Peter 1:4)

3 thoughts on “Who I am

Leave a Reply

