A faithful friend

Tonight I rediscovered this poem I wrote over a year ago when I was in anguish over loosing a friend who was like a brother to me. Today I related to that feeling, because I felt sad; I finally accepted how distant a one of my steadfast friends has become. And it’s not just one friendship, but a lot of friends just come in and out of my life, or I realize we aren’t truly friends, and I am saddened. I don’t always understand why. Most of all, with this particular friend of mine, it’s difficult for me to let go because it’s a friends that has been faithful in the past and encouraged me spiritually, but has gradually drifted away from me, even when I’ve reached out for them. Over and over I hear the words of Provers 20:6 in my mind:

“Many a man claims to have unfailing love, but a faithful man who can find?”

But reading this old post (that I had made private and just now made public again) helped me see how God had the best in mind. Even though it was hard for many reasons, God took care of everything. I also realized, many times when my Christian friends become distant in our relationship, it’s because they are becoming distant with God first.

All this to say, I have finally realized the best friendship advice:

Stay close to Jesus. He is the Forever Faithful Friend. People who stay close to Jesus will not fall apart from each other.

Trust God with your friendships. He has purposes that you don’t see now, but will later. He is present even when others aren’t.

“You give and take away, You give and take away. My heart will choose to say, ‘LORD, blessed be Your name!'”

College has really been a test; I’ve struggled a lot to try and understand how I should respond when friends fail. I have learned that all you can do is choose to love people. And by “love”, I mean Christ’s agape. This means choosing to love no matter if they don’t return it. This means being faithful even if they aren’t. This means you don’t stop loving them even if they stop loving you. People will break our trust and fail us and hurt our hearts. We have to choose forgiveness, love, and to stick close to Christ. He endured much more in His love for us.

One thought on “A faithful friend

  1. Sometimes God can use stuff like this for the better-for both of you. Like when Paul and Barnabas had a fallout in Acts. Paul went on and did even cooler things in the name of the Lord. This wound is to fresh to see how God is using it for the better. You are still as faithful in the Lord as always:)

Leave a comment