30 Days of Prayer

30 Days of Prayer

Two summers ago I lived in Kosovo, the smallest country in Europe, which was formally a part of Yugoslavia. It’s ethnically Muslim: 94.7%. God gave me a really big heart for this country and the people there. It still holds a huge part of my heart, I love them! I had the opportunity to share the gospel many times while I was there; to share, to listen, to converse, to read the Bible to and pray; I have Muslim friends, and I will never stop thinking of them or praying for them.

The reason I’m sharing about this is that I really want others to show love to Muslims, and to pray out of that love for them. There is a perfect opportunity to begin, today.

Today marks the first day of Ramadan. For those who don’t know, it is the Muslim month of fasting and praying, which this year will last from July 9th to August 7th. From the first break of light to nightfall, they will not have anything to eat or drink. In Islam, this fast is an act of faith and worship towards ‘Allah’, as they suppress their desires for food and water: abstinence from earthly pleasures, resisting evil intentions and desires is an act of submission and obedience to Allah. It is also seen as an atonement for sins, errors, and mistakes. Ramadan emphasizes Muslim brotherhood as they fast together as a worldwide community. They resist food and water (as long as the sun is up) to please Allah and seek his mercy. They break this fast after sunset every night with a big meal, and pray five times a day at specific times.

This is a time when they will be seeking God daily. I would love to ask that if you would, join with me to pray for all Muslims during Ramadan. Pray that they would meet the One True God, that they would encounter the person of Jesus Christ, and know Him as their Savior.

I sometimes think, ‘wow, what if a Muslim read this and would they be offended that I am praying for their salvation because that means what they believe is wrong?’ The heart of this is, I am praying for their salvation because I love them, and that love is from God’s heart, because He loves them, and I want them to know that love. I know His love, His heart, and it has changed my life; it has changed me completely in the most beautiful and incredible way. I want Muslims to encounter the truth of who Jesus is, I want them to understand grace and to know what it means to be dead to sin and alive in Christ. I pray because I love them, deeply, and I care about their salvation. And I think that we, who know and believe in Christ, should pray specifically for them during this time. I have faith God can do great things. Prayer makes a difference, and it never in vain; God hears, and He answers.

If you know of love like God’s for people, and truth that gives life, why wouldn’t you want others to know? Why would we ever stop praying for God to soften hearts toward Him and for people to encounter the living God?

So let’s pray.

Leave a comment