Love the one in front of you.

After a long day of work, puke, poop, boogers, and lotsa other lovely ‘nannylife’ joys, followed by a full workout, I was about to finally drive home. I was at my older sister’s house (who is married but her husband works until 3am). As I was saying goodbye, she sighed, “Tonight is kinda one of those nights I just wish I had someone to cuddle me and play with my hair.”

I’m sore. I smell like baby wipes and desperately need out of my mommy yoga pants and into my bed. It will take me 30 minutes to drive home. I’ve only had 3 hours sleep.

I did not even pause, though. I sat down on the couch, put her head on my legs, my hand on her shoulder, and I smoothed her hair while listening to her talk calmly about what’s on her mind. I am not saying this to praise myself; I am saying this is say- if you get an opportunity to love on someone right in front of you, don’t hesitate, forget about yourself, and choose to show them love with willing joy.

No one may ever know or appreciate that other than that person, or maybe only you- but it is worth it.

My sister said to me, “You’ve been taking care of other people all day and then you took time for me.”

I told her I am glad to, it’s what I love. I want to.

People don’t need to know the cost (and we should stop counting it). They just need to know the love.

When you choose to give, you receive. You receive a joy from knowing one more person is more loved with you present than if you were absent in that moment.

There are thousands of little opportunities like this every day that we have. We just have to see them, and then don’t delay, don’t wait- love them there, love them in the way they need it.

“It’s not complicated. Just love the one in front of you.” – Heidi Baker

2 thoughts on “Love the one in front of you.

Leave a comment